James P. Johnson Digitization Project

Material Description

The James P. Johnson Music and Personal Papers, ca. 1910-1955 contains music manuscripts, published music, correspondence, photographs, concert programs, date books, notebooks,radio scripts, and business records documenting Johnson's career as a jazz pianist and composer in early 20th century New York. In 2004 the IJS was selected as the official repository for the James P. Johnson Collection by his estate. Items of interest include correspondence and music for the unpublished opera De Organizer (1940), a collaborative work that Johnson co-wrote with Langston Hughes, manuscript scores for Carolina Shout (1921), Concerto Jazzamine (1934), and Harlem Symphony (1932), and extensive business records documenting transactions between Johnson and his publishers, royalties earned, and copyright registrations and transfers of his work as a composer and pianist during the early days of jazz in the 1920s.

Year Added:



Institute of Jazz Studies - Rutgers University Libraries


Ms. Krista White
Rutgers University Libraries

Ms. Adriana
Associate Director


Date Range

0 - 1955

Geographic Scope

New York and New Jersey


  • 20 Musical Scores